When You Realize Your Worth

I tendered my last day at work last Friday, June 3. After almost four years (I supposed to turn 4 years with Metrobank on June 16), I realized my worth.

When I started in the Bank in 2018, like any other new hire, I was very hopeful. I am starting again, a new slate, a role I had no idea what I’m in for. I also started out okay, learned everything from scratch and found my groove. I actually liked it better than my role in Tata.

However, pandemic happened. WFH happened too, which I actually enjoyed. But the thing is, everything became so toxic and stressful. Everyone seems to be leaving too. I had so much workload, the demands were too high. The pressure was too much. I wasn’t being recognized nor being rewarded.

I started looking for a job around July 2021. I had numerous email rejections, I couldn’t count. I had embarassing interviews and applications I didn’t understand why I applied in the first place. It wasn’t until around March when Citibank responded to one of my applications and the rest is history.

It took me 10 months to finally receive the position and offer that I was looking for. And just like when I started in Metrobank, I have no idea what I will be in for in Citi. Of course since it will be a new role, I know it will also challenge me. But I am ready. I still remember those two panel interviews. It was very spontaneous, a great conversation and they asked me questions that mattered from my previous role and to the new role that I applied for. I also look forward to working with those people who interviewed me. I had a great feeling.

I still have two weeks to rest and recharge. Find some time to spend with myself and family. Tomorrow I will wake up without an alarm and not feel any stress yet from any work. I am actually excited. Thank you Lord for this opportunity. ♥️

Leave a comment